Books We're Excited About

Best Day Ever

“Chilling, satisfying suspense.”
Good Housekeeping, Best Book of Summer

“Completely addicting… Those who loved The Couple Next Door will want to take note.”
—Carol Fitzgerald, Book Reporter

The Perfect Girlfriend by Karen Hamilton

A twisted love story in the vein of Fatal Attraction

“Totally gripping and thrillingly different. I loved it!”
—Laura Marshall, author of Friend Request

“So addictive it should come with a warning.”
—Alice Feeney, author of Sometimes I Lie

The Lost Letters of William Woolf by Helen Cullen

“A brilliantly written, moving homage to the power of words.”
—Nina George, New York Times bestselling author of The Little Paris Bookshop

“A wise, imaginative and heartwarming novel about the limits of love, the allure of new romance and the lost art of letter writing.”
—Luiza Sauma, author of Flesh and Bone and Water

The Witch of Willow Hall by Hester Fox

An atmospheric historical novel with a supernatural twist

“Perfect for fans of Simone St. James and Kate Morton.”
—Anna Lee Huber, bestselling author of the Lady Darby mysteries

Before I Let You Go

“One of the best books for discussion that I’ve read in years.”
—Diane Chamberlain, New York Times bestselling author of The Stolen Marriage

“A heartbreaking book about an impossible decision. Kelly Rimmer writes with wisdom and compassion about the relationships between sisters [and] captures the agonizing conflict between an addict's best and worst selves.”
—Luanne Rice, New York Times bestselling author

In the tradition of Jodi Picoult, a powerful, ripped-from-the-headlines story about sisterhood and sacrifice

The Summer List by Amy Mason Doan

In the tradition of Commencement and Summer Sisters

“Fresh and charming.”
Booklist (starred review)

“A sparkling debut novel filled with nostalgia that will make you long for your childhood friends and carefree summer days.”
PopSugar, Best New Books to Put in Your Beach Bag This Summer

Coastal Living Best New Book for Summer

Campaign Widows by Aimee Agresti

Sex and the City meets The West Wing

“Irresistible.” —Cosmopolitan

“Whip-smart.” —Us Weekly

Amazon Spring Reading Top Pick in Literature and Fiction

The Phantom Tree by Nicola Cornick

For fans of Kate Morton and Philippa Gregory

“Filled with romance, drama, mystery and intrigue.”
Historical Novel Society

USA TODAY bestselling author

See our full catalog »

Acquiring Editors

Susan Swinwood

Susan Swinwood Editorial Director

Interests: I’ve always been a fan of historical fiction that features prominent female characters, particularly set around the World Wars, but have recently discovered a deep fondness for time-slip novels that marry the best of historical and contemporary story lines. I’d love to add an original take on the classic mystery or gothic fiction to my list, and I’m a sucker for any novel told through journal entries or other forms of correspondence. I also just love a big layered quirky family drama told with wit and charm.

I’d love to find the next… Maeve Binchy, Curtis Sittenfeld, Susanna Kearsley, Jane Green.

Bio: A born and bred Torontonian, Susan’s publishing career began with notable Canadian publisher McClelland & Stewart before she joined Harlequin Books where, for the past 15+ years, she’s edited and helped guide the writing careers of a wide array of debut and veteran bestselling authors. She is Editorial Director for Graydon House and HQN Books.

Michele Bidelspach

Michele Bidelspach Executive Editor, HQN and Graydon House

My weaknesses are a strong voice, unique hook, and unforgettable characters and I gravitate towards them like a moth to a flame. I’m particularly interested in mainstream fiction about the complicated bonds of family and friendship and the complexities of marriage, especially when told with wit and emotional depth. Heartwrenching love stories and feel-good romantic comedies are my soft spot and for me, there’s nothing better than getting swept up in lush historical novels, particularly those featuring strong female characters with a unique twist. As for my wish list, I’d love to find a big, beautiful, heartfelt book about the struggles that immigrant families face in the modern world.

I’d love to find the next: Kristin Hannah, Celeste Ng, Taylor Jenkins Reid, Kate Quinn, Elin Hilderbrand.

Bio: Born and raised in Virginia, Michele began her publishing career at Grand Central Publishing (then Warner Books) where she acquired women’s fiction and romance for 15+ years. She joined Harlequin Books in 2018. Throughout her career, she’s had the privilege of working with amazing authors, both bestselling and debut alike.

Melanie Fried

Melanie Fried Editor

Interests: I acquire book club and upmarket women’s fiction and value a balance of engaging voice, complex characters, defined or high-concept plot, and high emotional stakes. I’m always on the look-out for stories that explore universal themes in a nuanced, fresh way and for thoughtful, escapist writing that offers a new worldview.

I love historical fiction with strong female leads inspired by true figures and typically with 1900s, Gilded Age and American Revolution settings; feel-good contemporary stories and romantic comedies with unforgettable characters; mainstream plots with elements of suspense or mystery or with a speculative twist; humorous yet heartfelt family dramas; and multi-generational sagas. I have a soft spot for novels that involve New York City, high-society drama, campus settings, immigrant tales and multicultural themes.

I’d love to find the next… Alice Hoffman, Kristin Hannah, Jonathan Tropper, Beatriz Williams.

Bio: A lifelong New Yorker, Melanie Fried began her publishing career at Gallery Books/Simon & Schuster before moving over to Thomas Dunne Books/St. Martin’s Press, where she worked with a wide range of bestselling and award-winning authors but specialized in upmarket women’s fiction, historical fiction and memoir.

Allison Carroll

Allison Carroll Editor

Interests: I’m particularly interested in women’s fiction that addresses the realities of dating in a very digital, very global society. Modern day relationship fiction that explores everything from long-distance relationships and cultural/racial barriers and expectations to online dating and the hookup app culture to the darker issues facing women today, such as online trolling and bullying and the disturbing emergence of doxing and revenge porn.

I’m also searching for format-driven fiction
—a relationship told through letters, diary entries, email; a story told out of order, a story with an unexplained plot device à la the film Sliding Doors or the phone in Rainbow Rowell’s Landline. Whether it’s a fun, breezy, grin-inducing read or a story that makes me weepy (in a good way!), a modern retelling of a classic story or an unpredictable speculative love story, strong hooks and a commercial voice are a must.

I’d love to find the next… Rainbow Rowell, Graeme Simsion, Elena Ferrante.

Bio: Allison Carroll is a Montana transplant who once upon a time packed all her belongings in a U-Haul and drove cross-country to NYC. Her introduction to publishing began at Dorchester Publishing in 2009 and continued at Macmillan’s Heroes and Heartbreakers. Allison joined the Harlequin family in 2012 and counts several New York Times bestselling authors among the writers she works with.

Brittany Lavery

Brittany Lavery Associate Editor

Interests: My personal taste in acquisitions lends itself to three main areas, and if I see these kinds of stories on submission, I’ll drop everything and dive right in. I love snappy, fresh, funny, contemporary voices with relatable protagonists, like The Hating Game, The Assistants, or A Decent Proposal. I also love sprawling family sagas with love stories woven through, like a Penmarric for a new generation, or even something spooky and atmospheric like Rebecca
—the story of a deliciously unhinged relationship. My other definite bias is toward the speculative, the truly unconventional love story
—for example, The Time Traveler’s Wife or Never Let Me Go. Strong female characters are a must for me!

I’d love to find the next… Kate Morton, Chelsey Johnson, Maggie Shipstead, Audrey Niffenegger.

Bio: Brittany started her publishing career in 2009 with an internship at The Cooke Agency and moved on to positions at the University of Toronto Press and Penguin Canada, joining Harlequin in 2015. When she doesn’t have her nose in a book, you can find her watching X-Files reruns, running around the soccer field or discussing the finer points of baseball and cheering on her beloved Toronto Blue Jays.

For Publicity and PR queries, please contact:

Lisa Wray Manager, Publicity

Lisa.Wray@harpercollins.com

For Subsidiary Rights queries, please contact:

Reka Rubin Director, Subsidiary Rights and Harlequin Audio

Reka.Rubin@HarperCollins.com

Readers! Looking for more information on books from Graydon House Books?

Visit BookClubbish.com for title information, book club guides, and more!